Spring Break Adventures: Indian Springs Spa, Calistoga

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.37.47 AMTop: Marshall’s | Shorts: J. Crew | Sandals (not pictured): Target

(Written while back in Boston, begging for warmth and procrastinating on homework)

Here’s to remembering sunnier, happier days, such as the one spent in Calistoga. While on spring break, my friends wanted to visit Wine Country. With only one of them being 21, I figured a spa would be a fun way to spend the day in addition to seeing all the gorgeous vineyards.

My friends and I drove up to Indian Springs in Calistoga for mud baths and pool time. We all had pretty mixed opinions, so I’ll go through the highlights.

Mud Baths: 

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 1.30.45 AMDefinitely an interesting experience. The mud is a lot more dense than you’d expect. It’s actually so dense that you don’t really sink into it. You lay over the mud, and then the spa attendant layers piles of mud on top of you. You can also opt to get some mud on your face (to be honest, I regret opting out of that…the effects of the mud bath reminded me of a Glam Glow mask).

PSA: mud gets everywhere (all crevices included).

The Pool

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.31.44 AMWhile not all of us loved the mud baths, we all loved the pool. The main pool is a huge pool that goes from 2 ft to 8 ft deep and is heated to 92 degrees. The spa also provides free pool loungers and noodles, which we all loved (I fell asleep on one).

Buddha Pond

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.33.09 AMThis was probably one of our favorite parts of Indian Springs. It’s a relaxing pond hidden behind the spa area. With lush greenery, bridges, statues and art, it was a perfect backdrop for an impromptu photoshoot. There was also a fireplace and lounging area where they had free almonds and orange slices.

BOTTOM LINE

We all enjoyed the day spa experience. For just the mud bath process, I thought the prices were a little steep. But because of the service and all day access to the rest of Indian Springs’ amenities, I would say pricing is reasonable and competitive to the rest of Calistoga/Napa Valley. While I enjoyed the mud bath, I don’t think I would do it again. Next time, I would probably try one of the massages.

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.31.14 AM

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 12.30.36 AM

xo, FMB

2 thoughts on “Spring Break Adventures: Indian Springs Spa, Calistoga

  1. Alexa says:

    I love Cali I would want to live out there! I just went for spring break last week and I am so sad that I am back in New England’s cold weather! It looks like you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

