The Boston Marathon

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 10.32.15 PMLiving in Boston this year has definitely been a challenge for me. As a native Californian who is used to 50-80 degree weather, 108 inches of snow really put a damper on my attitude towards the city. To be honest, I even considered transferring for a little bit.

But yesterday was Patriots’ Day, also known as Marathon Monday. It’s one day every year that Boston comes together to support thousands of marathon runners who are running for hundreds of different causes. In recent years, it has also become a day to celebrate the resiliency and strength of this city. I don’t know why, but something about Marathon Monday gets to me every year (I hate running). Last year, I volunteered at Mile 25, handing water to the runners. This year, I guess I got into the spirit and ran down Boylston from Newbury Street to the finish line (on the sidewalks, of course)! Watching the wheelchair contestants, military, elite and recreational runners cross that blue and yellow finish line gave me chills, and experiencing Boston’s love and community made me feel #BostonStrong.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 10.26.10 PMMy big, my little and I got together at 8am on a Monday to power up with brunch before the marathon.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 10.49.32 PMI wanted to proudly show off the Filipino flag, but the wind just would not agree with me. 

xo, FMB

Leave a Reply

