Coffee For Days

The other day, I found this website that calculates how much money you’ve ever spent on Uber. I made the mistake of calculating my total and cried. Thank God it can’t calculate how much I spend on coffee. In this case, I’m gonna say ignorance is bliss. 

With that said, I’m a huge coffee person. I still believe that Taylor Swift says “Starbucks lovers” in Blank Space. Between cold brew, lattes, macchiatos, Americanos, and good ‘ol brewed coffee, I will take any and all of the above. With finals rolling around and the beautiful weather Boston’s been having, I’ve been inspired to venture out of the Starbucks in the library and check out the cafes in the city. Here’s the low-down.

Pavement Coffee My absolute favorite coffee shop. Ever. They have a location on campus (BU Central) and on Newbury. I have been to both, and they are equally amazing. The Spanish latte is my favorite, and on a hot day, I’ll get an iced vanilla latte with almond milk. I haven’t tried the sandwiches because they’re a tad expensive, but I’ve heard great things. However, I tried the bagels and it’s safe to say that they rival true New York bagels!  Also: they offer an hour of free wifi, which makes it a great study spot.

Thinking Cup Definitely a cute and cozy shop. They also have multiple locations: one on Newbury, one by Boston Common, and one in the North End. Although the Newbury location is convenient, I highly recommend making the extra trek to the Common or North End. It’s a lot less crowded and a better atmosphere. Thinking Cup makes all of their syrups in-house, so definitely give their flavored lattes a shot! (lol, did anyone catch that pun?) They brew Stumptown Coffee, which is based out of Brooklyn, NY. Best coffee I’ve ever tasted, so maybe get a bag of beans to go. As for food, you really can’t go wrong. I’ve had the Barcelona sandwich, macarons, and several different pastries — all were great. My only problem was their bagel, which did not compare to Pavement at all.

Bottom Line: Both are great spots, it just depends on what you want. If you’re in a time crunch, I recommend Pavement because they work fast and there’s always room (or a space opens up) to sit for a quick bite. On a leisurely day, take the time to go to Thinking Cup. Between the house-made goods and interior decor, it’s a great experience.

Happy Monday Tuesday (I had a bad case of the Sundays and forgot to schedule this), and to all my college students out there, good luck with finals!

xo, FMB

One thought on “Coffee For Days

Leave a Reply

