“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

IMG_3704aAn open letter to my Big, Emilie:

Large! Congrats on your graduation! (Cum Laude, what a smartypants!) I am so incredibly proud of you, not only for graduating, but for being the person that you are. You are the most kind, generous and loving person that I have ever met. Thank you for welcoming me to KD with open arms and loving me unconditionally since day one.

It’s been a rough year, and I definitely could not have done it without you. Thank you for being by my side (or across the street) for the highest highs and lowest lows. We traveled across the country together, from New York to Connecticut to California and had our fair share of local adventures around Boston. My favorite memories in college all have you in it and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Sure, I was upset when I found out you were graduating a year early. And the closer we got, the more and more I dreaded your graduation day. But, I’m not afraid anymore. You’ve taught me so much, and because of that, I know I’ll be able to do this whole college thing without you by my side. While you’re no longer across the street from me, you’ll always be a text/phone call/FaceTime away, and God knows I will not hesitate to harass contact you.

I love you, Big. You are my mentor, role model, guardian angel, protector, best friend, and soulmate. You are loyal, kind, generous, compassionate, genuine, empathetic, loving–the list could become a novel. No one can or will ever replace you. As you go your own way, remember I am your biggest supporter and your number one fan. I will ALWAYS be here for you through anything and everything life throws at us. We are in this together. Big and little, we’ll always be.

image4

Leave a Reply

