Book Obsessions

School does a funny thing with reading…it makes you hate it. Okay, not necessarily hate, but reading becomes a chore the minute you are forced to do it. It makes the pages of a book lose their distinct smell, and the magic within the story disappears through analytical papers and tedious exams.

But I really do enjoy a good leisure book. While my definition of “good” varies from others (sorry, lifelong Harry Potter fans), these are the ones I couldn’t put down this month.

GOING OFF SCRIPT | Giuliana Rancic

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 12.33.27 AM

Considering I wanted to be the next Giuliana Rancic at one point in my life, I may be a little biased towards this book. But it is amazing. I laughed, I cried, and I learned a lot. I learned so much about Rancic and her journey through life and work. Reading this book and taking a ride with her (I phrase it like that because she writes in such a friendly and approachable manner) also encouraged me to think critically about my life, reflect on my experiences and look to my future. While I thought I would gain insider information on Hollywood reporting, I actually learned how to be happy and embrace myself. Rancic’s goofy anecdotes reminded me of life’s simple pleasures. Her heart-wrenching yet courageous narrative of her battle with breast cancer and IVF taught me to be resilient and brave. And her candid descriptions of past relationships and marriage to Bill helped me reflect on and recognize my self-worth.

LEAVE YOUR MARK | Aliza Licht

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 12.54.19 AM

Leave Your Mark is the most interesting and well-written textbook I’ve ever read, but it’s not actually a textbook. I call it that because I honestly think this book is more valuable than any other textbook I’ve read as a COM student at Boston University. While this is targeted at a female audience, it provides so many lessons that any young media professional can use. Licht is the brain behind @DKNYPRGirl, an account that launched fashion into the social media world. She writes in a way that is authoritative, compelling and inspiring. The media maven also includes anecdotes and real-life examples that clearly illustrate what you should and should not do through each step of your career — from being a student all the way up to CEO. While this one is for a narrower audience, I encourage any and all aspiring PR professionals to read it.

Leave a Reply

