Crazy Dog Lady (but, this has a point)

If you’ve talked to me for at least 10 minutes, you’ll know I have a dog. You will also probably be pretty sure that I am obsessed with said dog. What you won’t know, however, is that she’s only been mine for about six months.

This is Lexie. Lexie is a two year-old chihuahua Jack Russell terrier mix who I adopted from the Peninsula Humane Society this past summer. Although I’ve only had her for six months (and because of college, physically with her for three), I feel like she has been a lifelong best friend.

Although small, Lexie has one of the biggest hearts and biggest personalities I’ve ever experienced (humans included). She’s sassy, smart and loving. I know all dog owners say that, but I think she’s special…and I shamelessly express that about every three hours.

The point of this blog post isn’t just to express my love for my dog. Here’s some background: Lexie was found in January 2015, tied to a pole with a short rope and no food or shelter. Nobody knows how long she was left alone, but she was six pounds when they found her (today she’s at a normal weight of 12 pounds). The shelter took her in, nursed her back to good health, and she was ready to be adopted about two weeks later. You would think that with such a good temperament and adorable face, she’d get adopted in no time.

Fast forward to late May 2015, Lexie was still in the shelter. My dad and I stopped in one afternoon to just look around and ~consider~ getting a dog. I found a shy dog snuggled up in the corner of a room full of yappy, jumpy chihuahuas. She had the same markings as my best friend’s dog and my Big’s cat, so I asked to see her out of curiosity. We fell in love and brought her home that same day.

From day 1, Lexie approached me with unconditional love, enthusiasm, and trust. To be honest, that’s the way she greets almost every human. From the way I’ve seen her react to certain situations, I can tell she was abused in the past. She went through so many traumatic experiences, from abuse to abandonment to almost six months in a shelter.But what I find remarkable is the unwavering resilience and trust she has in people. And this isn’t true for just Lexie. I’ve seen the same characteristic in every shelter dog I’ve met.

Shelter dogs have an unbelievable about of trust, forgiveness and resilience to them that is so inspiring. And to top that, all they want from people is a little love and attention. I know that dogs are on so many wish lists this holiday season, but before jumping at anything, please stop by your local shelter and consider adopting a best friend.

Leave a Reply

