Interning at a large PR agency, as told by Buddy the Elf

This semester has been an absolute whirlwind. While I’m wrapping up my time in Boston this year, I reflected on my experience at Regan Communications Group. Working at a large agency has been so much fun and provided me with an excellent learning experience. From administrative work to PR 101, I picked up my fair share of lessons and skills.

  1. At a large agency, you wear many hats for many clients. I drafted press releases and media advisories, posted calendar listings, clipped press coverage, worked at events…the list goes on. One minute, I might be pushing out a media advisory about an upcoming fundraiser, while hours later, you could find me staffing a themed event in the Seaport District surrounded by puppies (it’s happened before)! Needless to say I’ve gotten fairly good at juggling! Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 3.32.08 PM
  2. Before interning at Regan, I was slightly terrified to make ~professional~ phone calls. I used to screen callers at a previous internship, but here, I was playing the big leagues and talking to journalists and publishers. Dialing all those digits definitely helped me gain more confidence in my phone etiquette. Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 3.39.27 PM
  3. I even got to spend a few days running around Boston to take photos, pick up products, and run errands. With the large range of tasks I did around the city, I have Boston’s streets memorized like the back of my hand. Also, I may or may not have developed “excellent” pedestrian skills… Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 3.47.47 PM
  4. When staffing events, I learned to be a friendly face as I was the first person that welcomed guests to the venue and got them settled. (This wasn’t hard, obviously, since our events were always fun!)Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 3.54.21 PM
  5. After events, the team would occasionally get dinner together, so I also made sure to polish up my dining etiquette. Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 3.57.33 PM

 

Honestly, the list of things I learned could go on for days. I originally did not plan on interning this semester because of my academic schedule, but I am beyond glad that I did. My most important and meaningful takeaway from working at Regan was the affirmation of the way I feel about public relations: Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 4.02.08 PM

 

Leave a Reply

