love yourself, and love others. hard.

I haven’t posted on here in awhile, but I needed to highlight something.

Suicide. 

It’s a real problem, and from my experience, I would honestly call it an epidemic, especially among young people.

Today I got word that another person from my high school community committed suicide. I didn’t know her personally, but I cheered with her older sister for three years. Her sister was always so welcoming, vibrant and loving, so I could only imagine that this girl was putting out the same image. From what I’ve heard, she was popular, smart, involved in everything, and seemed so happy.

And this is why I’m bringing attention to it. She seemed happy.

You never know what someone is going through, or what they’re thinking. This girl was struggling emotionally for the past year. Her parents knew, and they worked with the school to get her as many resources as she needed. But on the outside, she seemed fine.

I’m glad that my school took the steps to try and help her as much as they could, but it pains me to know that someone can be hurting so much, even with the help she was receiving.

Despite this case, suicide is obviously preventable. Reach out to your friends and family. Tell them how much you love them, and tell them often. Be aware of the things your loved ones say, and offer help when needed. Be there and just show up.

After hearing this kind of tragic news eight different times, one would think it gets easier or you become more dull to it. It doesn’t. Tonight’s news hit me like a giant wave. I actually felt my heart race, my vision became blurry, and I started physically shaking. I felt disabled and couldn’t do anything but text my friends and make sure they were okay.

Resilience is important at a time like this, but so is compassion. I’m mourning the loss of another young life, and feeling the heartache of my high school community from 3,000 miles away. My condolences go out to her family, and everyone who has lost someone important to them.

Although I haven’t struggled with mental health personally, it has touched too many of my close friends and family. It’s not fun for either side, but I can tell you, I promise you, suicide is never the answer. It gets better.

If you or someone you know is in crisis, here are a few resources:

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK

TeenLine, an organization by teens to help teens in crisis: 310-855-4673

You can also text TEEN to 839863

Stay strong, stay resilient, but most importantly, look out for one another.

Onward,

Francesca

 

Leave a Reply

